State of Arkansas Talent Agency Law

The State of Arkansas has specific laws governing talent agencies. These laws are designed to protect performers from being taken advantage of by unscrupulous agents.

To be licensed as a talent agent in Arkansas, an individual must apply to the Secretary of State and pay a $500 fee. The applicant must also submit a surety bond in the amount of $10,000.

A talent agent in Arkansas is defined as any person engaged in the business of procuring, offering, promising, or attempting to procure employment or engagements for an artist or performers.

Talent agents in Arkansas are prohibited from charging any fees to performers for services rendered. They are also required to maintain accurate and complete records of all transactions with performers.

Violation of the Arkansas talent agency law is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. In addition, any person who violates the law may be subject to civil liability.

If you are a performer who has been taken advantage of by a talent agent, you may file a complaint with the Arkansas Attorney General's Office.


This article is provided for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. For more information on talent agency law in Arkansas, or to speak with an attorney about your specific situation, please contact a licensed attorney in your area.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 5-53, a talent agency is defined as "any person, corporation, partnership, or other business entity engaged in the business of procuring, offering, promis

The Pennsylvania Talent Agency Law protects performers from being taken advantage of by talent agencies. The law requires that all talent agencies operating in the state be licensed by the Pennsylvani

The State of Oregon Talent Agency Law regulates the business practices of talent agencies operating in Oregon. The law establishes standards for talent agency contracts, commission rates, and other bu